skip navigation

KanJam World Championship

The game of KanJam evolved from a group of guys playing a garbage can flying disc game in the 80's and 90's. In 1990, just a handful of teams competed in the first ever World Championship tournament. Paul Swisher, who helped organize the tournament, became the first champion, along with partner, Greg Opalinski under the team name of "Dooleys." Swisher, along with his friend Charles Sciandra, would later set out the task to patent the game which would lead to the great game of KanJam!

Today, about 100 teams on average compete every year in the KanJam World Championship. This tournament is a day-long event, which takes place in North Tonawanda, NY (home of KanJam) on the second Saturday in August. This is an outdoor tournament, hosted by KanJam. The winning team is crowned as the official KanJam World Champions and have their name etched onto the "Hammer" Championship trophy.

KanJam World Championship

Countdown to 2020 KanJam World Championship


Saturday, August 10th, 2019

What a truly remarkable tournament it was in 2019! Players from 16 different states, Canada, and Europe competed for the coveted crown. Check out the results!

2019 KanJam World Championship logo


In KanJam, having the last throw is called having "The Hammer," which is similar to last at-bats in baseball. When the tournament started, a sledgehammer was the trophy. The winning team took home the hammer trophy and carved their team name onto the handle. After the 2009 KanJam World Championship, both sides of the handle were full, and the hammer was mounted to a permanent trophy, where future champions get a team plaque, as well as their own individual hammer trophies to keep.

The World Championship has a great history, starting in 1990 as the Garbage Can Disc World Championship, and evolving into the KanJam World Championship in 1999. Over the years, there have been many great teams and players. These legends have led the charge for KanJam as a competitive sport. Check out the sections below.

The Hammer

KanJam World Champions

A full list of all official World Champions


A list of all Finals matches since 1999

Final 4

Teams and players that made it to the Final 4, since 2003

All-time Players

Top ranked players all-time

All-time Teams

Top ranked teams all-time